The Carolina MacGillavry - IFS Collaborative Research Award

Carolina MacGillavryIn honour of the memory of Carolina MacGillavry, the Dutch crystallography scientist, this award recognizes the top ranked application to an IFS call for collaborative research. It is funded by a bequest from Professor MacGillavry, received via the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, to be used to encourage research collaboration by talented young researchers from the developing world.

Each Award provides up to USD 75,000 as a collaborative research grant to the application judged to be the best received by an IFS call for Collaborative Research.


  • The recipients shall be grantees in a collaborative research team supported by the International Foundation for Science.
  • The recipients shall have distinguished themselves by coming together and developing an outstanding collaborative research proposal to be carried out in a developing country.

Nomination and selection

Nominations for the Award are proposed by the IFS Collaborative Research Scientific Advisory Committee. Self-nomination is not permitted.

Nominations shall be submitted to the Director of the International Foundation for Science.


The Carolina MacGillavry Awardees



The 2nd Carolina Mac Gillavry Award was awarded to Team InvAfrica: Investigating 'The ecosystem impacts of the so-called 'Triffid Weed' Chromolaena odorata (Asteraceae)'.

InvAfrica team members:

  • Oludare Oladipo Agboola, Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria.
  • Palesa Natasha Mothapo, Stellenbosch University, South Africa.
  • Betty Nalikka, Makerere University, Uganda.
  • Marie-Solange Tiebre, University Felix Houphouet-Boigny Cote D'Ivoire.
  • Biplang Godwill Yadok, A.P.L.O.R.I. University of Jos, Nigeria



The 1st Carolina Mac Gillavry Award was awarded to Team Ximenia: Investigating ‘Opportunities for value-adding to Ximenia caffra fruit and fruit processing residues’.

Ximenia team members:

  • Aliyu Dabai from the Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Science, Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Nigeria 
  • Mary-Magdalene  Pedavoah from Department of Applied Chemistry and Biochemistry, Faculty of Applied Sciences, University for Development Studies, Ghana
  • Ojale Usman from the Department of Food, Nutrition and Home Sciences, Faculty of Agriculture, Kogi State University, Nigeria
  • Taiwo Aderinola from Food Science and Technology, School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, The Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria
  • Neill Goosen from the Department of Process Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa.

Team Ximenia

The Ximenia Team, from left: Neill Goosen, Mary-Magdalene  Pedavoah,
Aliyu Dabai,
Ojale Usman, Taiwo Aderinola

> Back to top