The IFS/Danida Award

The IFS/Danida Award was established with special funds from the government of Denmark in 1996 for grantees from Sub-Saharan Africa, and up to 12 awards were given yearly  until 2004. Each Award was of the value of USD 2,000.
[This Award is no longer given.]


The IFS/Danida Awards were given for noteworthy achievements clearly associated with research work supported by IFS. Candidates normally had an IFS project in progress, but those who had concluded IFS funded projects within the previous five years were also eligible for nomination.


The following types of achievements were considered as qualifications for the IFS/Danida Awards:

  • Publications of research results of high quality and in a form that makes the results easily accessible to the regional/international scientific community. Normally, but not necessarily, this would be through international or regional refereed journals, published books, or through reputable electronic means (eg through electronic journals run by recognized professional associations).
  • Research results of proven, positive applicability for developmental/socio-economic/environmental purposes. "Proven" should be taken to mean that the results have at least been tested in user/application trials.
  • Scientific peer recognition at international/regional/national levels.
  • High quality scientific performance under difficult physical and economic circumstances. Ability to apply imaginative and innovative solutions to overcome isolation and lack of resources in the conduct of a research task.
  • Proven scientific leadership, eg by initiating and co-ordinating research networks


Search for IFS/Danida awardees in the box to the right.

» back to IFS Awards 

> Back to top