• Contact IFS
  • Login
  • Go

Spotlight On IFS Alumni ~ Award-winning Scientists of Africa 2017

Published: 2017-11-27

As a recurring feature of our IFS blogs, we periodically turn the spotlight on our alumni. This month we highlight two of our former grantees: Prof Brice Sinsin and Prof Achille Ephrem Assogbadjo. The two were recently awarded top prizes in their respective fields for their research work which has transformed their communities and institutions and has gained recognition at country, regional, African and even global levels. We hope you enjoy this feature on our website.

Nighisty Ghezae, IFS Director

In October 2017 Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture (RUFORUM) 13th Annual General Meeting held in Malawi, RUFORUM awarded ten individuals who have made significant contributions to development and society, in appreciation of their efforts and to promote excellence. One of the awardees was Prof Brice Sinsin from the University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin. He is a former IFS grantee and was awarded Overall Winner of the IMPRESSA Awards 2017, also receiving US$20,000.
At IFS we want to say congratulations to Prof Brice Sinsin for his outstanding achievements. 

Follow the link to know  more about Prof Brice Sinsin  RUFORUM press release

African Science Report recently released the names of 52 African researcher nominees recognised for their phenomenal scientific work towards addressing poverty, unemployment and inequality in 2017. Prof Achille Ephrem Assogbadjo of the University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin, a former IFS grantee and PhD holder in Applied Biological Sciences, was one of the nominees.
He is an experienced researcher in population genetics, ethnobotany, conservation and domestication of forest genetic resources used by indigenous people.
Prof Assogbadjo’s research previously earned him international prizes including the Ebi Kimanani Memorial Fellowship Award in 2008 (Peru), the Heinz and Johannes Prize for the best scientific research paper on ecology in Africa in 2009 (Germany), and a prize of the Belgian Development Cooperation in 2010. In 2014, he was awarded the honorary title, The Name of Science, by the
Socrates Committee (Oxford, UK). IFS congratulates Prof Achille Ephrem Assogbadjo for his outstanding contribution and efforts. 

Nighisty Ghezae, IFS Director

Follow the link to know more about Prof Achille Ephrem Assogbadjo  Blog Post by RuFORUM.



Nighisty Ghezae, IFS Director

Thank you for reading this post, and be on the lookout for the next one as we highlight some of the best minds in research.                                                                              Dr Nighisty Ghezae, IFS Director


Post a comment

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>

> Back to top